Wednesday 13 November 2013

3 England-based players included as Gibraltar name first squad as UEFA member

Gibraltar national team manager Allen Bula today announced his first squad for an international since they joined UEFA, including 3 players who ply their trade in England, ahead of next Tuesday’s clash with Slovakia.
Boss..manager Bula

Danny Higginbotham was the standout name with the former Stoke City defender, currently with Chester in the Conference, called up for the first time. Barnsley’s Scott Wiseman will also feature for the first time and is the highest-level player in the squad. Adam Priestley, of Northern Premier League Division One North side Farsley.

The core of the squad is home-based with captain Roy Chipolina, goalkeeper Jordan Perez and strikers Lee Casciaro and Al Greene all selected by Bula. Liam Walker, who spent last season at Portsmouth, is also in the side. In total there are 13 players from the last Gibraltar squad to play internationally at the 2011 Island Games.

The game against Slovakia will take place in Faro, Portugal whilst Gibraltar’s Victoria stadium undergoes work. The Slovakian's, who’ll be without Martin Skrtel and Marek Hamsik for the game, were somewhat predictable first UEFA opponents for Gibraltar as manager Jan Kosak previously worked with Bula at MFK Kosice.

Kick-off at the Estadio do Algarve as at 18:30 and updates will be available via our Twitter service as well as a report after the match.

Full squad - 

Goalkeepers: Jordan Perez (Lincoln), Jamie Robba (Lynx) and Kevin De Los Santos (Man United 62)

Defenders: Roy Chipolina (Lincoln), Scott Wiseman (Barnsley [England]), Ryan Casciaro (Lincoln), Matt Reoch (Man United 62), Danny Higginbotham (Chester [England]), Jack Sergeant (Man United 62), Joseph Chipolina (St. Josephs) and Yogan Santos (Man United 62).

Midfielders: Liam Walker (San Roque [Spain]), Robert Guilling (Lincoln), Jeremy Lopez (Man Untied 62), Daniel Duarte (Lincoln), Julian Bado (Lynx), Daylian Victor (College Europa) and Kyle Casciaro (Lincoln).

Forwards: Lee Casciaro (Lincoln), Al Greene (Glacis United), George Cabrera (Lincoln), Adam Priestley (Farsley [England]) and John Paul Duarte (Lincoln)

1 comment: